American Museum of Natural History

Registered Name
American Museum of Natural History
Tax ID


The American Museum of Natural History (AMNH) is one of the world's preeminent scientific and cultural institutions. Since its founding in 1869, the Museum has advanced its global mission to discover, interpret and disseminate information about human cultures, the natural world and the universe through a wide-ranging program of scientific research, education and exhibition. The Museum is renowned for its exhibitions and scientific collections, which serve as a field guide to the entire planet and present a panorama of the world's cultures.


Annual Budget
June 2018
+1% Growth
Program Spending
Fundraising Spending
Management Spending




Since its founding, the museum has pursued a scientific research program to advance understanding of the biological, physical, and cultural world. The museum's curators, scientists, and post docs number approx 200 scientists who do research in the biological sciences, astrophysics, paleontology, earth and planetary sciences, and anthropology and publish in peer-reviewed journals. Through over 100 field expedition projects each year, the museum's robust collection of over 33 million specimens and artifacts grows. The museum continues its Ph.D. and master's in teaching programs through its Richard Gilder Graduate School, the only Ph.D. and mat granting program of any museum in the U.S.

Education and Other Public Programs


The museum's professional development program serves approximately 4,000 teachers each year, while the museum's signature science education program, urban advantage, has grown to reach nearly one-half of New York City middle schools. The museum's master of arts in teaching program helps to ameliorate the critical shortage of qualified science teachers in New York State, placing graduates in high needs schools. Approximately five million on-site visitors including approximately 500,000 school and camp group experience the museum education and public programs annually, including its early childhood programs that offer hands-on science exploration.



The museum is open to the public 363 days a year with 45 permanent exhibition halls, special exhibitions, and planetarium shows. The museum has a robust schedule of special exhibitions and planetarium shows it designs and produces, and that, after opening in New York City, travel to venues around the U.S. and internationally, supplemented with educational content and apps and other web-based resources for learning.


Lewis W. Bernard Chairman
Christopher C. Davis Vice Chairman
Louis V. Gerstner Jr. Vice Chairman
David S. Gottesman Vice Chairman
Richard S. Lefrak Vice Chairman
Linda R. Macaulay Vice Chairman
Theodore A. Mathas Treasurer
Roberto A. Mignone Vice Chairman
Charles E. Phillips Jr. Vice Chairman
Christine A. Varney Secretary
Michael Novacek Senior VP and Provost
Gerald Singer Senior VP and General Counsel
Lisa Gugenheim Senior VP Inst Adva/strat Plan/edu
Ellen Gallagher Senior VP and CFO
Ann Siegel Senior VP Operations & Capital Prg
David Harvey Senior VP Exhibition
Anne Canty Senior VP Communications, Marketin
Jackie Hoffman Assistant Secretary
Jackie Bezos Trustee
Scott L. Bok Trustee
Tom Brokaw Trustee
Vivian H. Donnelley Trustee
Nancy B. Fessenden Trustee
Tina Fey Trustee
Richard Gilder Trustee
Joseph H. Gleberman Trustee
Sibyl R. Golden Trustee
Margaret Hamburg Trustee
Marlene Hess Trustee
Richard E. Jaffe Trustee
Helene L. Kaplan Trustee
Katheryn P. Kempner Trustee
John Lykouretzos Trustee
Victor Marrero Trustee
Raymond J. Mcguire Trustee- Starting 06/14/17
Rebekah Mercer Trustee
Lorne Michaels Trustee
Alexandra Mondre Trustee
Edwin H. Morgens Trustee
Charles H. Mott Trustee
Valerie S. Peltier Trustee
Virginia Hearst Randt Trustee
Shaiza Rizavi Trustee
Theodore Roosevelt Iv Trustee
Frank V. Sica Trustee
Laura Baudo Sillerman Trustee
Anna Deavere Smith Trustee
Peter J. Solomon Trustee
Kenneth L. Wallach Trustee
Tamsen Ann Ziff Trustee
Hon Bill De Blasio Ex Officio Trustee
Hon Melissa Mark-viverito Ex Officio Trustee
Hon Scott Stringer Ex Officio Trustee
Hon Gale Brewer Ex Officio Trustee
Hon Mitchell Silver Ex Officio Trustee
Hon Tom Finkelpearl Ex Officio Trustee
Hon Carmen Farina Ex Officio Trustee
Ellen V. Futter President & Ex Officio Trustee
Daniel Stoddard VP and Chief Invest Officer
Ward Wheeler Curator
John Flynn Dean of Graduate School & Cura
David Thomas Curator
Mark Norell Curator
Source: IRS 990