Natural Heritage Land Trust Inc

Registered Name
Groundswell Conservancy Inc
Tax ID


Founded in 1983, Natural Heritage Land Trust Inc is an environment nonprofit focused on natural resources conservation & protection. It is a relatively small organization, with $3.4m in revenue and 5 employees. Natural Heritage Land Trust Inc is headquartered in Madison, WI and its executive director is James Welsh as of June, 2019.


Annual Budget
June 2018
84% Loss
Program Spending
Fundraising Spending
Management Spending



Groundswell conservancy (formerly known as natural heritage land trust) completed another great year permanently protecting cherished landscapes in the dane county, wi region and connecting people and communities with the land. We added 98 acres of wetlands to cherokee marsh and 31 acres of wetland along the yahara river in dane county. We partnered with green-rock audubon society to make a 75-acre property available forever for conservation education in rock county. In collaboration with a conservation-minded landowner and several conservation partners, we helped permanently protect almost 500 acres of scenery, wetlands, and forest overlooking lake wisconsin. In madison, we added a small but crucial piece of land to the outdoor classroom at lake view elementary school and built a nature-exploration station for the students on the expanded property. All in all, we permanently protected 698 acres of cherished land in and around dane county. Our summer intern prairie partners crew improved wildlife habitat at westport drumlin and patrick marsh and gained valuable work experience about managing natural areas. Our supporters participated in field trips to local farms, snowshoe trips to lodi marsh and patrick marsh, a canoe trip on the sugar river, a bird walk at wally bauman woods, and more. Groundswell conservancy was established in 1983 and has permanently protected 12,000 acres of important land and water. Groundswell is accredited by the land trust accreditation commission.


Greg Hyer President
Matt Frank Vice President
Tom Krauskopf Treasurer
Renee Lauber Secretary
Carrie Breunig Director
Anne M. H. Brindley Director
Vicki Elkin Director
Cameron Field Director
Darcy Kind Director
Pat Leavenworth Director
Barry Perkel Director
Glenn Reinl Director
Veronica Rueckert Director
Anne Sayers Director
Jediah White Director
James Welsh Executive Director
Source: IRS 990