American Committee for the Weizmann Institute of Science

Registered Name
American Committee for the Weizmann Institute of Science Inc
Tax ID


The American Committee for the Weizmann Institute of Science (ACWIS), founded in 1944, develops philanthropic support for the Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel, one of the world's premier scientific research institutions. The Weizmann Institute is a center of basic multidisciplinary scientific research and graduate study, addressing crucial problems in technology, medicine and health, energy, agriculture, and the environment. ACWIS engages in various activities in order to develop philanthropic funds for the Weizmann Institute from individuals, families, foundations, and the business community; educates the American public about the Institute's research; and represents the Institute's interests in the U.S.


Annual Budget
June 2019
+1% Growth
Program Spending
Fundraising Spending
Management Spending



Funds were transmitted to the weizmann institute of science, a world-renowned scientific research center. Basic research by weizmann institute scientists benefits people around the world, notably in fighting cancer, improving health and medicine, protecting our planet, advancing technology, enriching education, and exploring the physical world. Our scientists work with the brightest minds across the globe, from scientific institutes and medical centers to government agencies and academic institutions, as the they search for the answers to the most challenging questions facing humankind. Our mission is science for the benefit of humanity.


Funds were transmitted to the feinberg graduate school at the weizmann institute of science for scientific and educational purposes. The feinberg graduate school's purpose is to conduct, operate and maintain a graduate school for the study of natural sciences and mathematics. Since its establishment in 1958 as the academic arm of the weizmann institute of science responsible for all student and postdoctoral affairs, the feinberg graduate school has established its reputation as a multidisciplinary center where students strive to the highest levels of knowledge and understanding, under the guidance of creative and original researchers in the natural sciences and mathematics.


Mark Feldman Senior Vice President
Bonnie Diamond Senior Vice President
Michele Willner Chief Financial Officer
Jon Aaron Board Member
Gary M. Abramson Board Member
Dr Mark Alexander Board Member
Pennie Abramson Immediate Past President
Donald Altman Board Member
Steven Anixter Board Member
Robert H. Asher Board Member
Robert Belfer Board Member
Marshall Bennett Board Member
Naomi Birnbach Board Member
Lawrence S. Blumberg Immediate Past National Chair
Judith Cohen Board Member
Lester Crown Board Member
Karen Davidson Board Member
Samuel Ekstein Board Member
Alan A. Fischer Board Member
Laura Flug Board Member
Paul Gardner Board Member
David Geller Board Member
Patricia Gruber Secretary
Arlyn Imberman Board Member
Donald Kirk Board Member
Harvey Knell Vice Chair Financial Resource Development
Jay Levy Board Member
Richard Lipkin Board Member
Robert B. Machinist Chairman Emeritus
Larry Marks Board Member
Ellen Merlo National Chair
Ira Mondry Vice Chair
Gladys Monroy Vice Chair
Andrew R. Morse Treasurer
Charles Noparstak Board Member
Gil Omenn Board Member
Steven Romick Board Member
Tom Rykoff Board Member
Marla Schaefer Board Member
Donald L. Schwarz Board Member
John Schwartz Board Member
Merry Sherman Board Member
Daniel Sussman Board Member
David Teplow President
Theodore Teplow Board Member
Antonio Villalon Board Member
David Stone Board Member
Dennis Weiss Board Member
Fredda Weiss Board Member
Jonathan Birnbach Associate Vice Chair
Marilyn Perlman Board Member
Brian Price Board Member
Blythe Brenden Board Member
Stacey Cohen Board Member
Helen Kimmel Board Member
Marshall Levin Chief Executive Officer
Janis Rabin Executive Director
Lee Brown Executive Director
Jeffrey Sussman Vice President
Stacy Sulman Vice President
Richard Enslein Executive Director
Ellen Hofstatter Vice President
Elaine Yaniv Executive Director
Andrew Weissman Executive Director
David Cohen Executive Director
Daphna Ruby Executive Director
Source: IRS 990