World Resources Institute

Registered Name
World Resources Institute
Tax ID


Founded in 1982, World Resources Institute (WRI) is a global research organization that spans more than 50 countries, with offices in the United States, China, India, Brazil, Indonesia and more. WRI's mission is to move human society to live in ways that protect Earth's environment and its capacity to provide for the needs and aspirations of current and future generations. WRI's more than 450 experts and staff work closely with leaders to turn big ideas into action to sustain our natural resources-the foundation of economic opportunity and human well-being. Our work focuses on six critical issues at the intersection of environment and development: climate, energy, food, forests, water, and cities and transport.


Annual Budget
September 2019
+16% Growth
Program Spending
Fundraising Spending
Management Spending



Food, forest and water program - see schedule o

Wri Ross Center for Sustainable Cities


See schedule o

Climate Program


See schedule o


Manish Bapna Executive Vp/managing Director
Steven Barker Cfoo, VP Fin. Administration
Elizabeth Cook VP for Institutional
Janet Ranganathan VP for Science
Lawrence Macdonald VP Communications
Neil Prakash Chief Human Resources Officer
James A. Harmon Chairman
Harriet Babbitt Vice Chair Emeritus
William D. Ruckelshaus Chairman Emeritus
Dr Alice F. Emerson Vice Chair Emeritus
Dr Dino Patti Djalal Director
Frances G. Beinecke Director
Robin Chase Director
Tiffany Clay Director
Daniel L. Doctoroff Director
Jamshyd N. Godrej Director
Preston R. Miller Jr. Director
Jonathan Lash Director
Joaquim Levy Director
Michael Polsky Director
Dr Susan Tierney Vice Chair
Stephen M. Ross Director
James Gustave Speth Founder and Trustee Emeritus
Afsaneh Beschloss Director
Felipe Calderon Director
Daniel Cruise Director
Clinton A. Vince Vice Chair
Roger W. Sant Director
Daniel Weiss Director
Bill Richardson Director
Pamela Flaherty Director
Caio Koch-weser Director
David Blood Director
Joke Brandt Director
Christiana Figueres Director
Jennifer Scully Director
Wanjira Mathai Director
D. James Umpleby Director, End May 2017
Leonardo Martinez-diaz Dir. Finance Center
Andrew Steer President & CEO
Chad Snelgar Director Fin Planning and Analysis
Craig Hanson Dir. Ffw
Paula Caballero Global Dir. Climate
Holger Dalkmann Director Embarq
Helen Mountford Dir. Economics
Pankaj Bhatia Dir. Ghg Protocol
Elizabeth Otto Dir. Water
Jennifer Layke Dir. Energy
Mark Robinson Dir. Governance Center
Kevin Moss Dir. Business Center
Alex Perera Dep Dir. Energy
Christina Deconcini Dir. Gov Affairs
Peter Veit Dir. L&r
Victoria Beard Fellow
Arthur Droe Controller
Source: IRS 990